Poor usage: Pore vs. Pour

Cringeworthy moment today, when I was reading an article in a major publication that was describing a careful examination of web sites, which stated that a group will “pour over” them. I see this mistake every once in a while.

If I go to my local coffee shop and ask for decaf, they may make it by putting the grounds in a filter, and slowly hand pouring boiling water through those grounds and into my cup. They call this a pour over.

As I am there meticulously looking at the content of that journal article I’m reading, I’ll tell you I need to pore over this so I don’t miss any details. If I pour over it, I’ll have a soggy mess.

Learn more:
Pore vs. Pour from the Grammarist.

Leave a Reply

